France > Grand Est > Vosges > 88200 > Remiremont > Place Henri Utard
High place of the Romarimontaine history, the Abbey Church Saint Pierre of Remiremont - built from the XIth century - is the fruit of the superposition of 2 Romanesque and Gothic churches which are the object of a classification as historical monuments since 1983. The history of the abbey church is intimately linked, until the Revolution, to that of the Chapter of the Ladies Chanoinesses. The upper part of this building, built essentially in the 13th century, presents a contrast between the sobriety of the Gothic nave and the richness of the marble and gypsum choir. The underground church, composed of three chapels, dates back to the 11th century and has wall paintings from the 14th and 15th centuries. Thanks to important renovation works from 1988 to 2000, the church is in an excellent state of conservation, both outside (roofs redone, facades restored) and inside, with original colors and simple and pure forms recovered. This former church of the Chapter of the Noble Ladies of Remiremont, which became a parish church during the French Revolution, is the center of the canonical district composed of the houses of the canonesses and the abbey palace, which today houses the town hall. The renovation of the church has made it possible to highlight the 14th and 15th century mural frescoes in the crypt, as well as the original keystones representing magnificent suns painted in 1495 in the upper part. Excavations have shown the existence, under the Romanesque level, of a previous construction which would be the Carolingian chapel of the royal domain of Louis the Pious. The building houses many notable elements, including one of the city's treasures: the "Statue of Our Lady of the Treasure", whose originality is linked to a mixture of Byzantine and Romanesque art. It also houses a 15th century statue of Saint Nicholas carved from Meuse limestone, a copy of a painting by Velázquez, "Christ Crucified", as well as a monumental black marble and white limestone altarpiece which houses the relics of the founding saints of the Saint-Mont Built in Vosges sandstone, the church of Saint-Pierre has a sober tower with a bulbous bell tower that gives it a characteristic silhouette and the north transept houses a Renaissance-style portal with quality decorations. Please note: The Tourist Office organizes guided tours every Wednesday morning in July and August and all year round on request for pre-constituted groups. An audioguide is also available to discover the history on your own.
The Nobles Dames Chanoinesses de Remiremont lived in beautiful private houses, called canonical houses. Today they are classified as Historical Mon...Voir
Remiremont, Romaric's town, was born of women. Its entire history, which we can trace back to the 7th century, reflects this unrivalled feminine po...Voir
SPECIAL EUROPEAN MUSEUM NIGHT TOUR Accompanied by an expert guide, let yourself be drawn into the fascinating and spellbinding story of these tran...Voir
Until the French Revolution, the square was home to a rectangular fountain and a Chanoinesse house, which was demolished to renovate the square. M...Voir
Built in 1045-1050, the crypt of Remiremont's Saint Pierre church is one of the oldest Romanesque religious monuments in the Vosges. Comprising 3 c...Voir
In order to embellish the city, the Senator and Mayor of the time, Christian Poncelet, redeveloped the Place de l'Abbaye in 1990. To do this, a mov...Voir